Majdanek - German concentration camp in Lublin
The German concentration camp in Lublin in the district of Majdanek was designed as a source of free labour for the development of the Nazi empire in the East. It was located on the south-east outskirts of the city by the road leading to Zamość and Lviv, and covered an area of 270 ha. The camp functioned from October 1941 to July 1944.
The prisoners were nationals of 26 countries, mostly citizens of Poland (Jews and Poles), the Soviet Union (Russians, Ukrainians and Belarusians) and Czechoslovakia (Jews). Out of over 150,000 prisoners 80,000 (including 60,000 Jews) were shot, killed in gas chambers or died due to abhorrent living conditions. The bodies of the victims were cremated at pyres and in the crematorium.
The tragic ordeal of the prisoners came to an end on 23rd July 1944 when the Red Army liberated Lublin. Soon after the barracks were used by the NKVD as a prison for German prisoners of war and arrested members of the Polish Underground State.
The State Museum at Majdanek is open to tourists all year round with the exception of Mondays, religious and public holidays. The permanent historic exhibition and the installation art ‘Shrine’ are available only from spring to the end of October.
The State Museum at Majdanek, 67 Droga Męczenników Majdanka, tel. 81 710 28 33