8 lipca 1980 roku w WSK PZL Świdnik rozpoczął się strajk. Czara goryczy przelała się, gdy... cena kotleta na stołówce została podniesiona tego dnia o ponad 80 procent. Nastroje szybko objęły ponad 150 zakładów pracy w Lublinie oraz całym województwie. Zasięg strajków zmusił władze ...
An important moment in the history of Lublin was signing the Union of Lublin. On the 1st of July 1569 in Lublin, an aggreement between the Crown of the Kingdom of Poland and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania was signed. A new country was created, called the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. Upon the aggr ...
Bike rides around the picturesque Bug and Vistula areas, guided tours around Lublin, Kazimierz Dolny and Zamość, concerts in the wonderful scenery of the Zamoyski Palace in Kozłówka, close encounters with the blacksmith tradition in Wojciechów, and celebrations of the 451st anniversary of the U ...
Przylegający do Bazyliki klasztor, powstawał etapami do XVIII wieku. Jak głosi tradycja, w klasztornym refektarzu podpisano akt Unii Lubelskiej w 1569 r. Podczas zakończonego w 2012 r. remontu w północnym skrzydle klasztoru utworzono ekspozycję, w której zgromadzono przedmioty związane z zakonem. Najcenniejsze eksponaty można podziwiać w klasztornym skarbcu. Wystawa prezentuje m.in. kolekcję zabytkowych ksiąg, szat liturgicznych i wyrobów złotniczych.
ul. Złota 9
tel. 81 532 89 80
Welcome to Lublin, a place where apart from sightseeing and unique monuments, as well as participating in amazing events, you will find many other possibilities of experiencing art. Paintings, sculptures, photography, posters, graffiti - everything from classic to contemporary. We have some propositions for you. Here they are:
Grodzka Gate was also known as the Jewish Gate, because it served as a contractual border between the Christian city within the walls, and the Jewish district. Today inside of the gate one can see an exhibition "Lublin. Memory of the place", devoted to the history of pre-war city and it's inhabitants.
The Lublin Tourist and Cultural Information Center is ready for your visit. From 4th of May we are open seven days a week, from 9.00 to 19.00. Keeping in mind yours and ours safety, some of the rules for using the facility will change:
The Former Academy of Sages of Lublin (Yeshiva Chachmei Lublin) in 85 Lubartowska Street on the corner of Unicka Street. This formidable edifice, erected in 1930, was financed from contributions of Jewish communities from all over the world. The academy revived the traditions of Talmudic studies which flourished in Lublin in the Old Polish period.
Yeshiva had a vast library with Hebrew publications from the 16th and the 17th c. The best preserved part of the interior is the lecture hall, which once served as a prayer room. After World War II the building was given to the Medical Academy but returned to the Jewish community a few years ago. Presently the Yeshiva is used by members of the Jewish Community in Warsaw – the Branch in Lublin (tel. 81 747 09 92), who plan to open a hotel and a kosher restaurant catering mostly for Jewish tourists visiting Lublin. Inside there is also a remembrance chamber dedicated to the memory of the Lublin Jews (open every day apart from the Sabbath, which begins at nightfall on Friday and lasts until nightfall on Saturday).
Yeshiva Chachmei Lublin
ul. Lubartowska 85
tel. +48 81 747 09 92
The Holy Trinity Chapel, situated on the Castle Hill, is one of the most important historic buildings in Lublin. It features beautiful Russo-Byzantine frescoes painted in the first half of the 15th c. at the request of King Ladislaus Jagiello. These paintings on the walls of a Roman-Catholic chapel depict religious images characteristic of the Orthodox Church, which is a unique example of the co-existence of East and West European cultures in Lublin. Among the portraits of saints and biblical scenes there are frescoes presenting Ladislaus Jagiello – and they are the only depictions of the king painted during his lifetime.
Page 2 of 8