The Jewish cemetery, existing since 1829, was devastated by the Germans during World War II. In the 1980s, the cemetery was cleaned up thanks to the funds donated by Sara and Manfred Frenkl. It got surrounded by a wall and by the entrance an impressive mausoleum with a remembrance room was erected. The original ohel of rabbi Majer Szapiro (died in 1933), whose remains were exhumed and transported to Jerusalem in 1958, has been preserved.
Currently, the cemetery still serves burial purposes. The key to the cemetery gate is available at the reception of the Ilan Hotel.