At the non-existent 28 Szeroka Street, on the grounds of the jewish quarter largely liquidated by the nazis, stood the house of Yaakov Yitzchak Horowitz (1745-1815) – the famous tzaddik and the co-founder of the hasidism in the Kingdom of Poland.

Due to his gift of clairvoyance and foretelling the future, he was called the Seer of Lublin (Chozeh mi Lublin). His great authority attracted crowds of pilgrims to Lublin. Today his tomb, located in the old jewish cemetery, is visited by the represenatives of the jewish diaspora from all over the world.