The palace was built in a Baroque style at the turn of the 18th c. according to the design by Tylman van Gameren, but was remodelled in 1728 under the supervision of the architect Frantisek Magier. First owned by the Lubomirski Family and the Sieniawski Family, it eventually became the property of the Czartoryski Family. In time the palace served varied functions (e.g. as a snuff factory and a cinema) and lost much of its original style.
After World War II the palace was rebuilt by the Polish Tourist and Sightseeing Society (PTTK), which had its offices and a tourist shelter there. In the 1970s it was restored to its original Baroque style by the Lublin Scientific Society, which presently has its seat in the building.