Erected in the years 1924-1928 according to the design by Major of the Polish Army Mieczysław Dobrzański, the building was made with bricks from the demolished Orthodox Cathedral of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross that once stood in Litewski Square. The official opening of the Soldier’s House, named after the Marshal Józef Piłsudski, was held in 1933.
After World War II the edifice hosted many various institutions e.g. an operetta theatre and a cinema.
Presently it is the seat of the garrison prosecution office, army club and a library.