The building was erected in the 19th century. The owners were Berek Cygelman, and Szlema and Frajda Goldsobel. In 1905, part of the building was handed over to the Lublin Jewish Charity Society. The synagogue was then called Beschamedresz de Nosym. Before World War II, one floor of the the tenement belonged to the Jewish community, and the rest belonged to the Halberberg and Szwer families. The synagogue operated until 1939.
During World War II, the synagogue was used as a textile warehouse and shoemaker's workshop. After the war, the place was turned into a paper warehouse. In 1948, part of the building was taken over by Apolonia Tarłowska and the rest was rewritten to the State Treasury.
Until 1984, regular services were held in the synagogue. In the early 90s, the Bar Mitzvah was held in the synagogue - a ceremony during which a 13-year-old boy becomes an adult and can participate in religious ceremonies. Currently, the place houses the Chamber of Remembrance of Lublin Jews.