The building was erected in 1922-1923 according to the design of the Lublin architect Ignacy Kędzierski.
In 1926, a few years after the founding of the nearby Catholic University of Lublin, the Jesuits founded here the Faculty of Theology of the so-called Bobolanum College, after the name of St. Andrzej Bobola, a Jesuit and one of the patron saints of Poland. In 1929, the university received state rights and enabled obtaining academic degrees. Both Jesuit clerics and representatives of other religious orders were educated in it. Some of the students came from Germany, Romania, and Latvia.
In 1939 the building was taken over by the German army and turned into a hospital.
After the war, the Jesuits returned to the building. In 1951 they moved to Warsaw.
A military hospital remained in the building and it still functions today.