The church, located on a hill, was erected by Carmelites in the mid-18th century in place of a prior wooden chapel. The author of the design was Paweł Antoni Fontana, the architect of the Sanguszko family.
In 1835, the church passed into the hands of the Hospitaller Order of the Brothers of Saint John of God, who founded the St. John of God hospital, which functions to this day. In 1969, the Carmelites returned to the church.
The church was built in the late Baroque style. The façade of the temple is two-storey, with a single axis. There is a window above the rectangular portal. The church has a bell tower with one bell, decorated which has pilasters and cornices.
The church has a Rococo main altar, a carved pulpit, and historic organs. At the foot of the hill there is a chapel with the figure of the Mother of God and, next to the church, the Insurgent's Cross from 1863.